Author Topic: honda cb400f help me make it run right  (Read 8522 times)

Offline aydynla

honda cb400f help me make it run right
« on: January 26, 2012, 05:54:41 pm »
Hello everyone. i got this cb project e few months ago. its almost done and i cant make it run right. its all stock. bike starts up and runs too ritch. lots of smoke. doesnt smell like burning oil smells like gas. if i close fuel flow it will run for a minuet and then will rev up like crazy.
carbs are cleaned several times. just installed new points. tried 22mm and 24mm float level
appears to be standard jetting 40 pilots and 75 mains. neddle at middle third from the top position. air screw 2 turns out. runs the same way with and without airbox. timing appears to be ok. any ideas? this is my first time working with honda 4 cylinder bike. carbs are pretty close in balance.
thanks

Offline Randy

• Hot Shot
  • Nothing like a banging four under my legs..
    • Mission Detail
Re: honda cb400f help me make it run right
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2012, 06:08:20 pm »
Are the slides set at a stock level...
1973 CB500k, 1972 CB750 (New Arrival), 1978 Vespa P200 (New Arrival)

Offline aydynla

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2012, 06:43:10 pm »
What is stock level? They are just slightly open I couldn't find stock level. Slightly open on engine side of carburetor. probably 5 Mm on the other side

Offline aydynla

« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2012, 06:46:33 pm »
Also! Is 40 a stock pilot size? Siems kinda big. Tell me more about slide level please.

Offline MoMo

• Really Old Timer ...
  • Ride like you're invisible
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2012, 07:13:33 pm »
40 and 75 is stock.  Have you removed the midrange/emulsifier jets and cleaned out all the pores?  What do you mean by the timing appears to be right?  Are each set of points firing at the F mark and advancing between the two advance marks?  The air filter is installed and clean? The carb vent tubes installed and all passages clean?  ...Larry

Offline aydynla