Author Topic: My first CB: The final push 6 years later...  (Read 21152 times)

Offline stereosilence

• Hot Shot
  • 1975 CB550K
My first CB: The final push 6 years later...
« on: March 12, 2012, 10:02:36 am »
First a bit of background. I'm 25 and I grew up with parents who don't have any technical or mechanical background or pursuits. I never even learned how to change oil growing up. I'm an electrical engineer who LOVES motorcycling and I have always wanted to be able to completely build a bike from scratch. I have been wanting a cb550Four for about 5 years and finally had the spare change and found a good deal on a 1975 cb550. The PO was a college kid who used it as a daily driver. I figured I could keep it running and work on it bit by bit.

My strategy is to start small and tackle bigger and bigger things (although my confidence is rapidly rising) and make sure I get everything cleaned up and done right as I go along. One day I hope to completely disassemble, clean everything, and have the frame painted.

Here is what I started with:

That rear fairing and the rear turn signals were held on by zip ties (signals didn't work). The tachometer cable was broken. None of the right hand switches work. Headlight switch doesn't work (headlight was permanently on in the low position). It did come with an LED voltage meter because the PO had a problem running out of juice in traffic.

He recently put in new plugs and the tires are new. The electric start and the kick start also work well. However, the electric start switch was moved to a toggle switch on the rear left fairing.

I bought a tach cable and another set of gauge clusters that I cannibalized to get my gauges working properly. I set the tappet clearance and changed the oil. Then I spent time riding it and reading the forum to get a feel for what I was dealing with.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2017, 05:17:44 pm by stereosilence »

Offline stereosilence

• Hot Shot
  • 1975 CB550K
Re: My first CB - Here we go!