Author Topic: Cool Tools.  (Read 9429 times)

Offline Kelly E

• Geriatric Hooligan
  • Master
Re: Cool Tools.
« Reply #225 on: March 10, 2024, 03:58:19 pm »
Last week the boy broke the handle off the Collins axe just below the head. My buddy said to make it into a club for disciplining the boy since he is as big as me and only 15yo. Then I remembered that I have a 100yo H H Co hatchet head I've been dragging around for 40 years.
So I found the hatchet head and derusted it so I could put an edge back on it. Then I cut down the axe handle and spent 4 hours shaping it to fit properly and maintain the edge alignment. I got a really tight fit to the hatchet head.

The slightly curved handle really works well and I achieved a near perfect balance. I have painted the hatchet head and put 2 coats of oil based polyurethane on the handle. After a few more days for the paint to cure it goes out to the woodshed and back to work. 8)
Never Give Up - Never Surrender

The Rust Bros. Garage Collection
1974 Honda CB 550 K0                                            1971 MGB/GT
1975 Honda CB 400F Super Sport                          1972 MGB/GT
1977 Kawasaki KZ 1000 LTD                                   1985 GMC S15
1978 Kawasaki KL 250
1980 Suzuki GS 1100E
1981 Suzuki GS 1100E
1982 Honda CB 900F Super Sport
1983 Honda CB 1100F
1984 Honda VF 700S Sabre
1984 Honda VF 1000F Interceptor
1990 Moto Guzzi 1000 Le Mans
1994 Kawasaki Concours ZG 1000A9
2005 Harley Davidson Fat Boy

Offline BenelliSEI

• Really Old Timer ...
  • 1969 cb750
« Reply #226 on: March 10, 2024, 05:00:12 pm »
My ancient Motion Pro Sync. tool. Cleaned out and reloaded today. I like the way you calibrate it each time. Hook it up to one cylinder (all four columns) and ensure they are all identical, on the day. Very reliable. The only thing you have to watch is NOT to create enough vacuum to suck the fluid out the top.

What did you fill it up with?