Author Topic: Asking for help: Any experts that can rebuild a CB450 master cylinder?  (Read 3442 times)

fendersrule

My girlfriend has been getting screwed on a craigslist recently. I've had 100% luck with craigslist via distant purchasing over 10 times.

She is 0 for 3.

Some guy failed to mention that his handlebars were slightly bent in two spots, and now she's out $50 on that. Still looking for bars.

Some guy sold her a tach for a CB450. While a nice tach, turns out it's for a CB500 four. She's out $30 on that.

Some guy also sent her a master cylinder that was completely gutted. $40 out on that.

I have no experience or special tools rebuilding master cylinders. Is there an expert here who has spare parts and a rebuild kit to get this thing working again? The guy removed all hardware off it, so having spare hardware is key. We already have a lever.

We considered David Silver Spares, but they charge a HEFTY amount for shipping on the nice repro that they have. She just wants to get what she has working again.

This is her first restoration, and it's sad that these things had to happen. I'm hoping that she gets excited again.

Offline totty

Re: Asking for help: Any experts that can rebuild a CB450 master cylinder?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2013, 01:38:09 am »
Provided the bore is in good condition fitting a rebuild kit is easy. The kits come with everything required and the only special tools required are circlip pliers.

Check the bore for scoring or rust. For very light corrosion I've gotten away with using a bit of wet and dry rolled up (hone tools are available) for anything deep the fix is to bore out and sleeve - a replacement is likely to be cheaper.

I'm in the UK so can't advise on where to buy the kit, but make sure you get it from somewhere reputable - the last cheap kit I bought (CB400A) had an incorrectly sized washer and circlip, I reused the old ones but that isn't an option for you.

Offline Terry in Australia

• Really Old Timer ...