Author Topic: Cb750F 1978, and hello  (Read 22846 times)

Offline UK Pete

• Enthusiast
Re: Cb750F 1978, and hello
« Reply #25 on: January 01, 2013, 01:12:19 am »
I like that filter, never seen one like that
Pete

Offline Thousandson

• Enthusiast
  • Ride, Fix, Repeat
« Reply #26 on: January 13, 2013, 07:19:48 pm »
Pete, the air box is from what I've called it a "bread box" filter. Chopper guys in the 80's, would put them on their bikes. I saw one, and fell in love. Don't like the stock box, never really liked the pods.

Progress! I am a theatre carpenter/welder, I have also done some machine work. My uncle was in the shop working on his own projects, so I had some time in front of a drill press to work on my disks. With a bench grinder at the shop it made quick work of the crud on my valves.

I have 18 days until the end of January, I should have my motor put back together. Waiting on a few parts, but it should be buttoned up soon. Need to get to the rest of the bike, brakes, bearings, and a few electrics to deal with.

Home made spring compression tool, a little notch in a pipe, and some double sided tape.

Cleaning some valves, so much better.

Valves cleaned and lapped, took two goes on a few but much cleaner.

My disk sanding station, wile still wearing a resperator. I have no idea what kind of nasty stuff they used as pads, not taking any chances.

A little Auto Cad and help from my roommate using a large format printer, easy lay out.

A can on super spray 77. Spray just the paper, low tack easy to pull of sticker

So many holes.

After 3-4 hours of drilling, I'm still not done. Looking at maybe another 2 hours in front of a drill press.

Just a  rough idea what it should look like when I'm done.

Current ride: 78' Cb750F

Offline Retro Rocket

• Eggs are hard due too a
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • ROCK & ROLL
« Reply #27 on: January 13, 2013, 11:48:51 pm »
The bread box is slightly better than pods but the stock airbox is far better... ;)
750 K2 1000cc