Author Topic: Road racing question (very basic)  (Read 8036 times)

Offline Roach Carver

• Really Old Timer ...
Road racing question (very basic)
« on: March 31, 2013, 08:14:26 am »
I have question for those who are doing it or have done it. I have extensive experience in dirt car racing when I was younger so I find myself, later in life missing that thrill you can only get from competition. I do know that that experience really gives me no background for motorcycle racing other than being prepared to open my wallet. My question is basic. I have multiple cb750's to scavenge and am slowly amassing some cb350 parts as well. Should I just build the 750 and ride conservatively or would I learn more riding the 350 and then moving up. The place I will be taking it is in Oklahoma and I don't believe it is sanctioned. They have a required one day course as well as regular safety gear requirement. Any further advise would be greatly appreciated!
« Last Edit: March 31, 2013, 08:18:04 am by roach carver »

Offline Roach Carver

• Really Old Timer ...
Re: Road racing question (very basic)
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 08:16:31 am »
Here's an old pic of my car from back in my glory days

Offline bwaller

• Really Old Timer ...
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2013, 10:08:47 am »
You've got an exact understanding of how it goes with that wallet comment. Before you make a decision on what to ride, try to pinpoint closer the class structures. There always seem to be a class for the CB350, and it wouldn't be much fun if your 750 was badly out gunned by more modern bikes. Try contacting BigBob, he's been racing a CB750 for a long while. Either way though it's about having fun. Any past racing experience will help you on your bike.

Offline Roach Carver

• Really Old Timer ...
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2013, 10:57:36 am »
Hey Brent. Thanks for the info. As a side note I havent forgotten about your "friend". I keep thinking I will eventually cross paths with him.

Offline bwaller