Author Topic: F2/F3 oil filter "collar" or spacer - do I need this?  (Read 1341 times)

Offline fxef79

• Hot Shot
F2/F3 oil filter "collar" or spacer - do I need this?
« on: March 05, 2020, 07:50:36 pm »
Be gentle - I'm a complete newbie to the Honda CB world.

Just acquired a custom trike that has a CB750 K2 engine in it (based on the engine serial number).

So I've been going through the basic checks.  Tonight I dropped the oil pan and oil filter cover in order to inspect, clean, and to put a new filter in.

Imagine my surprise as I take off the oil filter cover, and an additional hunk of aluminum comes off the front of the engine with it. Wasn't expecting it... nothing like that in any of the CB750K parts diagrams.  It took me a bit of research to figure out what this is... it appears the PO put on the F2/F3 oil filter assembly, including the additional "oil cooler", which I describe as a finned spacer that is between the cases and the "outer" oil filter cover.  It has the longer bolt to account for this "spacer".

As I went through parts diagrams to figure this out, I've determined I appear to be missing two parts.  First is the skinny washer that goes between the spring and the filter.  I actually found a washer in my random bin of washers that fits, so I think I'm OK for that... can't imagine that part is particularly sensitive to very exact specs - this one fits, and does what it would seem to need to do, which is give a nice flat surface to mate to the rubber on the filter, rather than the relatively skinny spring digging into it.  I've also read that a lot of bikes are missing this anyway, since it tends to get thrown out as it's often stuck to the filter.

But the other part I'm missing is described as COLLAR, OIL FILTER BOLT.  Part # 423-333-000.