Author Topic: No power, no lights, no nothing  (Read 1027 times)

Offline Lost and Confused

• Bob
  • Enthusiast
  • An old fart !!
No power, no lights, no nothing
« on: May 02, 2013, 06:39:19 pm »
I have a similar problem as a lot of our rebuilders. 1974 cb750k with new harness, new battery (13.3 volts measured ). I have a small meter. Just about everything has been replaced except starter solenoid, and ignition switch ( not OEM ). Regulator and rectifier are Oregon parts. Checked fuses four times. Running Pamco ignition, and used switched power off of regulator. When ignition turned to run I get nothing. I did a search on our forum, but did not find a good step by step post. My gut feeling is the switch.

So any help would be great. I'm not very good with electrics, although had no problems with putting in new harness. I did double check the wiring connections very thoroughly.

Bob

Offline brooze72

• Talk to my friends here at SOHC4 if you need an
  • Expert
Re: No power, no lights, no nothing
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2013, 06:52:24 pm »
Any lights? Maybe ignition switch itself?  Check with your meter.
2011, 2012 & 2013 Godzilla Relay Rally Rider
"Hold on loosely...don't let go
 If you cling too tightly...you're gonna lose control"
1972 CB500K1 - restored rider
1981 CB650C - new project

Offline flybox1

• My wife thinks I'm a
  • Really Old Timer ...
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 07:19:04 pm »
open your headlight bucket, take off your tank. Turn your switch on, then start wiggling every connection, one by one.  Watch for a flicker of lights. You'll find it.
Check your fuses. Check the fuse box for melted connectors or frayed and corroded wires.
'78 750K (F3 engine) PD42b's, Modified airbox w/K&N  filter, 40/110 jets, 1 needle shim, IMS@ 1 turn out. Kerker + Cone 18" QuietCore

Past Bikes
1974 550K0 (stock), 1973 CB350F (stock), 1983 Yamaha XS400K (POS)
77/78 cool 2 member #3
"Knowledge without mileage equals bullsh!t" - Henry Rollins