Author Topic: 77 CB550k, SF Bay Area  (Read 15008 times)

Offline jtran000

77 CB550k, SF Bay Area
« on: May 10, 2013, 01:27:13 pm »
Hi All,

Picked up a 77 CB550k last april but been busy traveling and snowboarding so not much work has been done.  Starting this build thread to get things moving along and motivate my busy ass to get going.  I'm a newb to building but rode a 1998 FZR for 4 years in college.

Had her at Hayasa Motorbikes in Oakland, CA, while I was away and owner, Tyler, gave her a good tune-up.  Bought a new seat cover/foam off ebay but turns out my pan is from a F model and not the original K.  I ended up taking seat to a furniture upholstery store and had them cut the foam as well as reupholster the F pan.  Black portion of the seat is vinyl, trim and brown center is leather.  Wanted a classic feel while still able to take a passenger around town. 

Hayasa synced the carbs, installed Dyna S Ignition (said my bike is cold blooded before, now it's semi-cold blooded), he recommended superbike bars instead of club/clipons until I get some rearsets.  I like the superbike bars though, very comfortable, especially on longer rides, think I'll keep em.  He also said she's in good condition, engine as good compression, frame is straight, despite the rusted spokes and minor rust spots throughout the bike. 

Bought Napolean bar end mirrors, I like the look and visibility! 

Just ordered Shinko 712 front/rear tires and new strips/tubes from Motorcycle Superstore, total for every was 130 no tax/shipping!  Awesome deal, very happy, should be here end of next week.  In the meantime, gotta remove the front/rear tires, they have old Metzler on that are originals (I think so).  I bought new spokes off ebay so need to put those on and replace the fork seals.  Hayasa said if I remove the wheels and forks I can bring them in but recommend I attempt first, wants me to learn.