Author Topic: CB750K3 project: Burning Spear  (Read 3554 times)

Offline NagChampa

CB750K3 project: Burning Spear
« on: July 20, 2013, 07:06:49 pm »
Picked up a 1973 CB750 for less than scrap prices a little while ago. It had been ridden hard and left for dead in storage, then moved to a backyard where I found it. Definitely will have to put some work into this before it will become road worthy.

This is my first project as well as my first bike. Yes I know that most barnfinds cost over a grand to get started. I am actually more interested in building and learning about this machine than riding it right now. There will be time to ride in the future but will probably have another project by then. Hopefully with help from the fine folks of SOHC4forums and the Honda service manual, I will have this kitten purring in time.

There are a few issues that have to be dealt with, my short term goal is to get it running, ride it for a season, take it apart for a shave, paint and polish, put it back together again and enjoy.

As I brought it home. First thing to go would be the sissy bar. Paint will not be so purple in the future as well.

4 in 1 header pipes are crudely cut off just past the collectors. They are also pounded flat on the bottom. Not sure if they are worth saving, probably just keep them for welding practice in the future. Definitely going on the 'Maybe' pile for now.

I had to take a before photo

Few days later

Some of the wiring was held in place with string

This is why I am going with new wiring, that and the liberal use of red automotive wire with hand twisted and electrical taped connectors.

Had to drill off the handle bar switch gear on both sides.

Left over damage from previous side car conversion. Looking at right side passenger peg triangle. I debated restoring this frame to stock specs but will likely cut off these triangles in the future for a cleaner look.