Author Topic: Another CB350F-First Build-Noob-In my garage Thread  (Read 1054 times)

Offline jason405

Another CB350F-First Build-Noob-In my garage Thread
« on: November 27, 2013, 10:29:51 am »
Hey guys,

been reading a ton on this forum in preparation to start my first bike build.  I have purchased a 73 CB350F from a friend who bought it with the hopes of building a tracker style bike, but never finished it.  I am brand new to this whole thing.  I have space in my garage and most of the basic tools I think I will need.

Let me preface this thread with this fact: This will be a fairly slow build.  I'm not sure how slow, but my wife and I are about to have our first baby, so only time will tell how fast I can get things done.  I'm not holding my breath.   ;D

So first, inspiration.
I have looked at a ton of pictures and ready through many build threads and have landed on a few photos that are very close to what I would like to end up with.  This is closest one I have come up with, but I would like to do flat tracker style bars vs clip ons.

So here is the bike I have.  The PO (before my buddy) painted the whole thing with cheap black rattle can with obviously no idea what he was doing and no prep.  It is flaking off everywhere and looks terrible. That ok, because everything is getting torn down, stripped and repainted anyway. But for example, its a paint because he did the same paint job to the motor so there is black paint in the fins and and in many other hard to clean out places. Oh joy.

So here are some general thoughts/plans for each area. This is by no means a complete list, but I am wanting to get a basic outline of all the work that needs to be done and then start attacking each area individually.  I'm already overwhelmed.  :o