Author Topic: Remove Oil Pan. Easy job? "73 CB750"  (Read 6343 times)

Offline sm8

Remove Oil Pan. Easy job? "73 CB750"
« on: May 23, 2014, 10:05:45 am »
I noticed an oil leak from the oil pan drain bolt. Looks like the crush washer is missing and the bolt got over torqued and split the oil pan at the bolt thread. I guess the PO didn't bother to replace the washer.
I ordered a good condition pan off eBay. Got a NOS gasket and a new bolt with washer.

It seems like an easy job to remove the old pan and replace it. Besides the obvious of draining oil, is there anything i should be aware of with removal? I see all the bolts that hold the pan in place, I'm assuming I remove the bolts and the pan drops down.

I'm new to old motorcycles, so I wanted to check in with you guys before I start removing stuff. Nothing is going to fall out right?

I'm hoping this is something I can accomplish myself in an hour or so while the bike is up on the center stand. Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks!
-Steve

Offline Bankerdanny

• Eventually I will be old enough in reality to be
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Endeavor to persevere
Re: Remove Oil Pan. Easy job? "73 CB750"
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2014, 10:15:40 am »
It should be very straight forward. My 550 is wet sump, so a bit different, but the pan just unbolted and dropped right out the bottom of the frame.
"The problem with quotes on the Internet is that you never know if they're true" - Abraham Lincoln

Current: '76 CB750F. Previous:  '75 CB550F, 2007 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooter, '75 Harley FXE Superglide, '77 GL1000, '77 CB550k, '68 Suzuki K10 80, '68 Yamaha YR2, '69 BMW R69S, '71 Honda SL175, '02 Royal Enfield Bullet 500, '89 Yamaha FJ1200

Offline Jerry Rxman Griffin aka MuthaF'er

• This MuthaF'er is getting to be a
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Bought her new 4/75
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2014, 10:17:43 am »