Author Topic: HELP!!! Transmission/Clutch/Shifting ISSUES - and im a newb to these bikes  (Read 553 times)

Offline jcorrill

• Elite School of Wrestling
Hello everyone, i am new to the forum as well to the vintage motorcycle scene (however i have been around dirt bikes/ATVs since i was little - even racing them at one point in my life).  I am in the process of restoring/building my 1978 CB550.  So the goal is to get it running pristinely as well as give it that cafe look, and im juggling both of them at the same time, while trying to enjoy it (riding) as much as possible.

The background to my situation - the PO put new cables on, which is awesome, but also left the clutch out of wack.  My mechanic buddy adjusted it the best he could on the handle bars, but said he would need to dive in deeper to get it fully corrected.  However, he is a full time mechanic, and a musician, so he doesn't really have time to help me out - and most shops this time of year are not only expensive as  :-X, but also backed up several weeks.  Therefore, i am tempted to do the work myself.  Plus, half the enjoyment with these vintage bikes is figuring out the problem and fixing it.  Although i do not have much mechanical experience, I want to learn to work on these bad boys, because it is my new obsession lol.  I am pretty quick at learning, and have been doing a good amount of research (however i am not great with terminology - for lack of a better term... newb)