Author Topic: '78 CB550 Weird engine rattle when i let off the gas (only at 20+ mph)  (Read 842 times)

Offline jcorrill

• Elite School of Wrestling
Hey guys, i know i have been blowing up the forum lately, but it is only because i just recently found out about it - and everyone on here has so much knowledge about vintage bike.  I am new to the the vintage bike so everything bit is helpful.

REcently i have noticed a strange rattle when i let off the gas.  It only occurs when i am moving at 20+ mph or so.  It sounds like it is coming from the engine.  Are there any common issues that '78 CB550s are known for having or does this seem to be the type of issue where ill have to pull it apart and search for the culprit. Any input will help.  Thanks

Jake
Nothing will test your patience like owning a vintage motorcycle.

Offline flybox1

• My wife thinks I'm a
  • Really Old Timer ...
might be a little soon to jump INTO the engine.  lots of other things you can check.
check all the fasteners you can find to see if something is loose and rattling...like the chain guard or a cover.
is one of your cables rattling against the headlight?
i'd also check for a correctly adjusted cam chain
could it be chain slap?  is your axle properly adjusted for your drive chain?
'78 750K (F3 engine) PD42b's, Modified airbox w/K&N  filter, 40/110 jets, 1 needle shim, IMS@ 1 turn out. Kerker + Cone 18" QuietCore

Past Bikes
1974 550K0 (stock), 1973 CB350F (stock), 1983 Yamaha XS400K (POS)
77/78 cool 2 member #3
"Knowledge without mileage equals bullsh!t" - Henry Rollins

"This is my CB. There are many like it, but this one is mineā€¦"

Offline jcorrill

I will definitely check out those issues.  Could it also possible be the timing chain?

How do i figure out what the proper adjustments/setting are for my axel in relation to my drive chain?

Thanks for the speedy reply.

Jake
« Last Edit: June 13, 2014, 02:33:34 pm by jcorrill »

Offline calj737

• Really Old Timer ...
  • I refuse...