Author Topic: Another CB550 coil issue  (Read 630 times)

Offline RevDoc

• Hot Shot
Another CB550 coil issue
« on: August 11, 2014, 03:40:26 pm »
Diagnosing issues with the '78 CB550K4 that I'm trying to rehab from being a parts bike at the back of a small repair shop. Both carb and ignition issues due to some hack having been into it. Found this post with another of TT's superb explainations, http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=5752.0. Having worked for years as an industrial electrician I can appreciate TT's very logical, orderly progession of tests. (TT, I'm sure I speak for many others when I say THANK YOU! for being so gracious in sharing you wealth of knowledge with us.)  Using the list of checks that TT has in the referenced post I found these results:
Stock coils measure~5 ohms: checked ok
Secondaries~15K ohms: had 15.2 & 15.4
Continuity tests:
two primaries: checked ok
Two plug HTs: checked zero
two primaries to HTs: checked ok
OHMS test:
two primaries should have~5ohms+/-1: had 9.2!

This is my first experience with Honda ignition. I don't know if the coils are OEM or something someone just threw on. Markings on the coil bodies look like TEK brand. Left coil has FL703-12V53F Right has FL703-12V53H.

To me it looks like these are toast! If you guys agree, anyone got coils they know would pass testing and how much would they be? Got this bike last Oct. and haven't been able to get more than one hr total riding this summer between the carb hack job and now the ignition.  :'(
Dana

'78 CB550K--Angie
'82 CB750 Custom--Eva

As soon as you straddle a bike expect every other driver on the road to suddenly start competeing for the title "Dumbestsonofa#$%*inallNorthAmerica!!"

Offline TwoTired

• Really Old Timer ...
Re: Another CB550 coil issue
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 05:29:29 pm »
Did you measure secondaries for plug cap the plug cap or from wire conductor to conductor?