Author Topic: CB400F Engine Rebuild  (Read 1395 times)

Offline Alberta400f

CB400F Engine Rebuild
« on: May 11, 2020, 07:56:28 pm »
Hello everyone,

First a bit of intro, skip to the photos if you don't care.

I'm pretty new to this sub but I've gained some valuable information following other peoples builds and especially Nurse Julie's engine rebuild on the UK forums.

The bike I have is a 1975 CB400F that I bought as a first bike off of a friend for cheap. I planned on upgrading to a modern bike but I've always had the dream of restoring an old piece of machinery (I have a 1981 MK1 Scirocco sitting in a yard as well which I've had plans for, for years).

At first I thought the bike was in pretty good condition despite being neglected, however it has its own issues. I've been stranded on the side of the road in various places several times when the condensers have given out and dealt with stalling issues when hot at low RPMs. I brought it into a shop to see if they can't fix some of these problems since I didn't have time. This is when it started to become apparent that this bike wasn't quite as untouched as I had thought.

First it was obvious that the clutch cable was not original and had been routed rather incorrectly (this should have been some foreshadowing) but most worryingly we discovered there was an issue with the forks. The bottom fender stay was bent rather nicely but the shop owner pointed out that he was pretty sure the stays were straight on original 400s so I opted to have the shop check the forks. As it turn out the forks were very bent and not wanting to ride a bike with bent forks I got them straightened and rebuilt.