Author Topic: Building a balanced Stock 74K motor for the Salt 2016 looking for advise  (Read 937 times)

Offline Gregorymoto

• SOHC Aficionado
  • Hot Shot
This will be my fist time going to salt.

You see the bike in my avatar thats Old paint. I have bought this bike in a box when I was 18. It was my first motor rebuild. In the years I've had it I have ran through one stock motor- one  900 RC motor- and one 836 RC/Yosh piece together motor into the ground.
Right now it has a bad ass K motor in it that I bought off a friend years ago. I'm not sure whats been dune to it but it's not stock.

I say all this to point out I'm not a rookie, but I'm not an expert. I have built this bike with parts I found hear and there. I raced it at Banbridge Air strip in WA for 2 years, then an aluminum connecting rod broke

I have a 74 K motor (i think might be a 72) that I rebuilt the top end in 96. I had the whole top end cleaned and looked over and prepped by a speed shop in Seattle. They also did the valves. When I put it together and in the bike I had no power and blew the head gasket. It was summer so I put a RC900 motor in it that I pulled out of a chopper and off I went.

Fast forward to 2015. I'm taking this motor apart once more.
This time I want to build a sweet well balanced stock-sh motor to run at speed week.

Any advise in this endeavor needed. I've been off and on this site since day one. I no my user info says 2000 or something. I lost my user number when they changed servers and had to re register. I know there are some guys on hear that go to to the slat and are into it.

I want you help and advise.

Thank you so much.
Greg Mountian
I would love your help and knowledge.
Yep, i have issues with this sort of stuff.

Offline Old Scrambler

• My CB750K3 has been in 39 States & 5 Provinces
  • Old Timer
http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php/topic,109584.0.html

http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php/topic,135473.0.html