Author Topic: Motorcycle Starting issue  (Read 2137 times)

Offline jetthugo

Motorcycle Starting issue
« on: September 16, 2015, 11:56:11 am »
Im new to the riding community so Im still learning terminology and the mechanics of a motorcycle. My newly purchased 1973 Honda CB350F usually runs well, but at times won't turn over as seen in this video. I rode it two days ago for about a good hour but did not attach my trickle charger after parking it in the garage. But would the battery really be low after a day and a half? It's charging right now, but does it sound like something else could be wrong? Thanks for everyones help and solutions.

Here is the link to the video

Offline Mantree

• Hot Shot
Re: Motorcycle Starting issue
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2015, 12:22:15 pm »
I didn't see you use the choke I'd there a strong gas smell?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Offline jetthugo

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2015, 12:36:03 pm »
Thanks for replying Mantree. I trimmed the video so it didn't show me messing with the choke on this, but yes I had it open but still no go.

There is an abnormal gas smell coming out of the bike.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline calj737

• Really Old Timer ...
  • I refuse...
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2015, 01:06:15 pm »
That video clip does not indicate a battery problem, but a carb/fuel problem. It may be that you're flooding the engine, or, that you're not getting enough fuel into the carbs. Impossible to say without more diagnosis.
'74 550 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=126401.0
'73 500 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=132935.0