Author Topic: Front Brakes Stick and won't Retract  (Read 32692 times)

Offline clarkjh

• Expert? If only.
  • Expert
  • Surely and Samson are now Co-habitating
Re: Front Brakes Stick and won't Retract
« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2007, 04:36:50 pm »
If the wobble in the rim is bad enough to transfer to the hub at speed, I don't think I'd have the gonads to ride it. ;D

And I'm no expert :P just a "Jack of all trades, and Master of none."

James
SOHC/4 #3328
SOHC/4 Gallery: http://www.sohc4.us/gallery/v/members/personal/clarkjh/
1974 CB550, 40000 Miles
1980 GL1100, 102789 KM - Back on the road after a complete engine rebuild. 
*** Why, oh why, is it always head gaskets with me?***

81cb650C

« Reply #26 on: March 26, 2007, 04:55:57 pm »
The wobble wasnt all that bad  maybe 1/4 " at the rubber but it definetly solved my problem.  I dont know, it could have solved another issue that i wasnt aware of but i truely think the the rim was the problem. 

Offline UnCrash

• Pass
  • Master
    • My Blog
« Reply #27 on: April 13, 2007, 05:48:41 pm »
This is a great thread!

I'm contending with a front brake that's sticking on my 78 750F.  I believe that I have multiple problems...  I'm going to ream out the little hole in the MC first thing in the morning (great tip!).

I learn best by taking things apart to see how they work.  The sticking brake perplexes me a little.  With the brake off the rotor and dangling in the air, if I squeeze the brake lever, the piston comes out but doesn't go back.  So I squeezed the lever more, the pison comes out more...

I couldn't get the piston to go back when squeezing it with a big pair of pliers so I opened up the bleeder valve.  I found the little hole in that completely blocked up so cleaned it out.  With that off fluid was able to come out, but I still couldn't squeeze it back.  I got out a C clamp and sunk it back in with the bleeder off.