Author Topic: What to look for when purchasing a "barn find"? (Midwest)  (Read 2000 times)

Offline itzjoker

What to look for when purchasing a "barn find"? (Midwest)
« on: January 08, 2019, 10:07:36 am »
Found a local CB550, from the pictures it seems to be in good condition.  It is very clean. Owner told me it was running before it was stored. It's been stored only a couple years and he has not started it since storing. I was told it needs a tune up...carbs cleaned/rebuild, battery, gas tank cleaned, etc.

~24k miles on odometer

I have zero knowledge of motorcycles, but I am not afraid to do light work to get it 100%.

What else should I be cautious of when purchasing?

How much should I pay as well?

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: January 08, 2019, 04:41:27 pm by itzjoker »

Offline sixthwisconsin

• With an 1855 Springfield, I'm a
  • Hot Shot
Re: What to look for when purchasing a "barn find"? (Midwest)
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2019, 10:25:18 am »
Post pictures if you have them.

1. Check that the motor is not stuck.
2. check the mileage.
3. take a flashlight and look at the inside of the tank.
4. make sure the original airbox is intact.
5. If original exhaust, check for holes around the collector.
6. look under the seat and under the left side cover at the condition of the wiring.  Check for hacking and splicing.

Offline jakec

• Master
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2019, 10:25:32 am »