Author Topic: '77 CB750 Revival - Help!  (Read 1602 times)

Offline Radski

'77 CB750 Revival - Help!
« on: March 20, 2019, 10:08:54 pm »
Soooooo... I've picked up a '77 CB750 from a friend of mine and am going through the paces of getting it fired up and back on the road. Admittedly, I AM a newbie and at 40 years old after having a stroke, I'm trying to pull out a bucket list project to check off.

I'd like some help or suggestions as to what to do with one issue I've encountered thus far.

I've adjusted the valve clearances already and checked the tension on the timing chain. However, I'm encountering a weird electrical problem which is stumping myself as well as some slightly more experienced mentors. Im not getting spark on my 2 & 3 spark plugs however I do have spark on 1 & 4. I've checked all continuity and all wires from the points/condensers to the coil connectors and we're good. I've checked the continuity of the wires into the coils and we're good. I actually switched the coil wire connectors (yellow lead to blue coil wire, and blue lead to yellow coil wire) and then I got spark in spark plug number 2 but then didnt in 1& 4. I turned it over and looked at the points and have spark on the 1/4 point but did not see any in the 2/3 point. I checked the timing and its good and the gaps on the points are appropriate and clean flat heads.

What could be the problem? Why no spark? I'm fairly sure the points are worthy but....condensers? Point bad?

Any ideas or suggestions would be great!
1976/1977 Honda Cb750 "Odzilla"

Offline bryanj

• Really Old Timer ...
  • CB500 Number 1000036
Re: '77 CB750 Revival - Help!
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2019, 01:10:37 am »
Run a points file through both sets then clean, regap and reset the timing. points can oxidised with standing and stop current flow and its a good idea to do both at same time