Author Topic: motone switches?  (Read 144 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rusty2078

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 78
motone switches?
« on: September 18, 2019, 08:29:28 pm »
I did a basic search and came up empty on Motone switches from Analog Motorcycles. They look very similar to the Motogadget units, and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with these? I've read multiple posts about the motogadget units, and issues with grounding (?) through aluminum bars (correct me if I'm wrong here).

Thanks!

Rusty

Offline MessnerMoto

  • Hot Shot
  • ***
  • Posts: 666
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2019, 04:01:13 am »
sorry if I am jumping in not invited, but I am a forum member making this beauties. You will not find smaller, more elegant and of better quality switches on the market.






https://messnermoto.com/product/motorcycle-switches/

and more products at https://messnermoto.com/store/

..and I am making them with proper strong cable, but still thin and not visible because cable goes under the handlebars. I am personally strongly against running wires inside of handlebars because of multiple reasons.. and my switches come pre soldered/assembled... ready to be used immediately.

I am giving special offers to forum members. Ping me in DM
« Last Edit: September 19, 2019, 04:22:56 am by MessnerMoto »

Offline calj737

  • Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,632
  • I refuse...
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2019, 05:53:56 am »
The Motone switches work just fine. The only grounding issue using aluminum bars is the mButton which wants to be used internally to steel bars. The mButton is really unnecessary anyway.

The Motone or Renards are options to the MotoGadget mSwitches. They all work as momentary switches. The Renards are the nicest on the market, but dang they’re proud of them!

https://www.renardspeedshop.com/brand/renard/
'74 550 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=126401.0
'73 500 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=132935.0

*** Currently experiencing life at 60 WTFs per hour ***
I always thought getting old would take longer

Offline rusty2078

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 78
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2019, 12:28:18 pm »
Very good to know...thanks to both for your input, and Messner don't worry about jumping in...all good. Nice to have options to consider, still a long ways off before considering electrical, switchgear, etc...need to rebuild the engine and chassis, and then would like to get the bike running well with stock components prior to modifying the electrical system.

Cheers!

Rusty

Offline calj737

  • Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,632
  • I refuse...
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2019, 06:12:30 pm »
I wouldn’t swap to momentary switches unless you fully rewire the bike and opt for an mUnit. Otherwise the stock style works well enough.
'74 550 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=126401.0
'73 500 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=132935.0

*** Currently experiencing life at 60 WTFs per hour ***
I always thought getting old would take longer

Offline rusty2078

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 78
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2019, 06:30:12 pm »
From the bit that I've been reading (like everything else) it's a system...in for a penny..in for lots and lots of pennies. The wiring harness as it stands is unmolested, and more than likely will just need a good cleaning of all the ends and contact points, and inspection to ensure no wear points/cracks or exposed wire. While I generally subscribe to "form follows function", I do like a very clean, modern and minimalist look, at the front end.

Offline calj737

  • Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,632
  • I refuse...
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2019, 07:29:30 pm »
If I recall correctly, you’re opting for an R6 grafting. With clip-ons, momentary switches can be tidy. But you need to rethink the wiring harness in certain circumstances with momentary buttons. The terminals for these small buttons can be a trick to accommodate thicker gauge wiring suitable for running higher amp circuits. With an mUnit, these buttons only operate as ground signals so the wire can easily be 22-28 AWG safely.

This has added benefits too. Smaller gauge wires means thinner looms, less weight, tidier install. And you can locate the mUnit in an unconventional location as well (like under a tank, a small seat hump, etc). But everything has a cost...
'74 550 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=126401.0
'73 500 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=132935.0

*** Currently experiencing life at 60 WTFs per hour ***
I always thought getting old would take longer

Offline rusty2078

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 78
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2019, 08:30:58 pm »
Actually not going with clip ons, R6 front end/FZ upper with a conservative scrambler style bar....my neck, back and shoulders can't assume the position without voicing protest anymore! Thanks for the heads up about the actual working length of the wiring loom, could be very easy to end up short. I'm assuming I'll end up down one of 2 paths: either full on re-do with M-unit, switches, LED lighting, minimalist Motogadget instrument display...or find vintage (or vintage looking) components that will be compatible with the parameters of the stock electrical system.

Had a little peek at the Renard gear...WOW...infatuated with the switch/control units...but thats around 1700 CDN... And I'm just assuming that they require an M-Unit as well....

Offline rusty2078

  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 78
LED lighting?
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2019, 11:50:25 am »
Does anyone have any advice on LED components, and where to purchase through? I've been looking on line and see a vast difference in pricing between motorcycle vendors vs. Ebay, Amazon, etc. I'm thinking about (eventually), LED headlight/tail with integrated turn/running lights...also assuming that going down this route will mean M-unit, switchgear, etc etc.

Cheers!

Offline calj737

  • Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,632
  • I refuse...
Re: motone switches?
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2019, 03:01:55 pm »
Doesn't require it, but it sure is easier with an mUnit.

As in all things, you get what you pay for in quality regarding electrical/electronic devices. I like MotoG and Rizoma stuff. But others may not have the appetite for their price. I build and buy my bikes to keep and ride and enjoy. The aesthetics to me are as important as their durability.
'74 550 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=126401.0
'73 500 Build http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=132935.0

*** Currently experiencing life at 60 WTFs per hour ***
I always thought getting old would take longer

 

;
Honda