Author Topic: Mismatched Spark Plugs?  (Read 650 times)

Offline jayrdee

• @JacobDurbin
Mismatched Spark Plugs?
« on: March 02, 2020, 08:44:34 pm »
So, I'm slowly chugging away at a 3k mile service on my 77 CB750K. I noticed it runs a little rough in the lower rpms so I figured now would be a good time to go through everything. I bought the bike last year but never got around to tinkering with it until now (this is also my first bike, like ever, so I'm learning as I go haha)

Anyways, I took the spark plugs out today and noticed they were mismatched. Cylinders 1 and 4 had NGK DR8EAs and cylinders 2 and 3 had Champion RA6HCs. I wanted to check to make sure the plugs were good so I measured the resistance through the electrodes. NGK's measured around 5k ohms, and the Champions measured 10k? 

What are some symptoms these mismatched plugs could cause?  Correct me if I'm wrong, I'm still new to this stuff, but if the plugs have too much resistance, that leads to a weaker spark, right?
I did notice theres not as much power coming from cylinder 3. I could feel the air coming out of the exhausts, and 3 was the weakest. Come to think of it, cylinder 2 was weak too, but not as bad as 3.

Regardless, I will buy new D8EA plugs since that's what the standard was.
[I have no idea what I'm doing]

Offline BenelliSEI

• Really Old Timer ...
  • 1969 cb750
Re: Mismatched Spark Plugs?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 06:49:39 am »
Jay..... get the new plugs on, valve clearances, points gap, ignition timing, then sync the carbs. You’ll be amazed how it smooths out. Good luck, looked at your older posts/ pictures. Lovely bike! Clutch still slipping?

Offline jayrdee

• @JacobDurbin
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2020, 09:55:17 am »
Jay..... get the new plugs on, valve clearances, points gap, ignition timing, then sync the carbs. You’ll be amazed how it smooths out. Good luck, looked at your older posts/ pictures. Lovely bike! Clutch still slipping?

That's the plan!