Author Topic: Burning Oil or Fuel Around Carb Boot/Bowl - '74 CB750  (Read 612 times)

Offline matthew.hyndman

Burning Oil or Fuel Around Carb Boot/Bowl - '74 CB750
« on: March 03, 2020, 11:46:56 am »
I'll preface by saying I'm a novice of mechanics and bikes, so I apologize if there's an obvious conclusion here or another thread I should be referencing.

I've had my 1974 CB750K for a few years now and have only performed basic maintenance on it. As I was winterizing it, I noticed what looks like burnt fuel or oil around one of my carb boots and float bowls (see image attached). As I was running the fuel out of the carbs, that area was smoking mildly.

Any ideas on what the issue could be or what I should be doing about it?

Thanks in advance.

Offline setdog

• Hot Shot
Re: Burning Oil or Fuel Around Carb Boot/Bowl - '74 CB750
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 12:24:43 pm »
i wouldnt call that 'smoking mildly' considering there shouldn't be any smoke at all .  i wouldn't be running that bike as it looks like its about to catch on fire.  maybe im being over dramatic, but yikes.

i get those carbs off the bike and on the bench asap and start going thru them, and for safety i would dump all the fuel in the tank and plan on not riding or starting it up for a bit

i would immediately be looking to replace the carb boots at the least, and perform a thorough inspection of the carb bodies, to start...and then worry about a scheduled tune up procedure, involving ignition timing, valve adjust and cam chain
« Last Edit: March 03, 2020, 12:31:32 pm by setdog »
My toolbox consists mainly of hammers.

76 CB 200T. (sold)
75 CB 750 K5. (sold)
74 CB 750 K4. (current rider)
73 CB 750 K3. (build)

https://www.youtube.com/user/setdog100

Offline seanbarney41

• not really that much younger than an
  • Really Old Timer ...
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2020, 01:06:52 pm »