Author Topic: Honest opinion needed  (Read 667 times)

Offline 88BuckMeister

• Enthusiast
Honest opinion needed
« on: January 20, 2024, 08:09:49 pm »
I'm new to this and I feel like I'm somewhat over my head. I'm in the process of a 650-550 cam swap with a 591cc 61mm piston kit. I shaved material out of the head to get the lobes to clear. Now I apparently have to check to make sure the lobes don't contact the rocker arms and do a mock assembly using clay to check valve clearances. I feel like if I am going to follow though with this mod, now would be the time to do it with the engine out of the bike. I do have a new stock grind cam for it too...I keep asking myself...should I just put the damn thing together with the stock cam? Will I ever follow through with the 650 cam upgrade down the line?

Thus far I've purchased the 650 cam, the new tach drive, racing valve springs from Dynoman, I've already got the 591cc big bore kit installed, I bought a 16 tooth front sprocket, and that's where I'm at.

What is your guys' advise. Will the power boost be THAT MUCH MORE that you day "dude take your time, this mod is worth it", or is it that "your 61mm big bore piston kit is sufficient, just put the new stock grind cam in. It's not that big a difference in power". I've never ridden this bike or any 550 for that matter before so it's not like I even have anything to compare it to anyways. Thoughts? Somebody sway me. It'll be a LOT less of a headache to use the new stock grind cam. But if the 650 cam mod is worth the headache, let me know and I'll follow through. Just reading a lot of horror stories from people that "missed something" in the process of this mod

Offline scottly

• Global Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Humboldt, AZ
Re: Honest opinion needed
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2024, 09:28:15 pm »
Just install the stock cam for now and save yourself the anguish. ;)
Don't fix it if it ain't broke!