Author Topic: CB550 Intermittant Seizing.  (Read 1504 times)

HoboJuanKenobi

CB550 Intermittant Seizing.
« on: March 22, 2007, 02:57:38 pm »
i am a new mechanic who just started working on a '75 CB550 rebuild and am having an odd problem with the bike.  It seems to seize sometimes when trying to start it by either the kick or electronic starter.  It will just stop turning over and the kick has no give at all.  If you adjust the crank backwards manually it frees back up the engine and the kick and electric starter work again for a while.  There doesn't seem to be any pattern to the seizures.  Any ideas on what could be causing the engine to intermittently seize up?

Thanks!

Offline OldSchool_IsCool

• Really feeling like an
  • Old Timer
  • WARNING: Objects in mirror appear to be LOSING!
Re: CB550 Intermittant Seizing.
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 03:44:52 pm »
I assume the engine is cold, not seizing because of running lean for hours on end.

My first guess is a loose part floating around in the crank case or tranny that jams up the works until you free it up by the reverse rotation.  Pull all the tappet covers and inventory the adjuster screws and lock nuts.  If you are missing one, that may be the culprit.

Are you ever successful in getting the engine to start?  If it is a loose part and it jams up an engine at speed... well... anyone's guess as to what will happen.
Can I have a motorcycle when I get old enough?
If you take care of it.
What do you have to do?
Lot’s of things. You’ve been watching me.
Will you show me all of them?
Sure.
Is it hard?
Not if you have the right attitudes. It’s having the right attitudes that’s hard.

Offline hymodyne

• Expert
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 06:04:57 pm »
could be a broken valve spring.

hym
"All things are ready if our minds be so."

HoboJuanKenobi

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2007, 09:39:27 am »