Author Topic: Machine Polishing for a Noob??  (Read 2342 times)

Offline LoopsAndLogic

• Hot Shot
  • Dang IT!!!
Machine Polishing for a Noob??
« on: May 17, 2007, 08:00:43 am »
I've been polishing for a few years now, and I would like to improve on my skills and workmanship.

I've had the buffer from HF for 2 years now, and it does work great with minimal stoppage time for cool downs.

Its the 3\4hp or 1hp + motor, that's all green. Many of you guys know which one.

Anyways, my questions are as follows:

1. At what time during polishing should I dress the pad with my blade knife?
2. I pull against the rotation for cutting and for polishing, I follow the rotation???
3. It seems that when I go up in polishing compounds, it doesn't make an effect on the piece.... Should it???
4. Should I just be using the Emerald polish, cause it's the only one that says, for use with aluminum???
5. What would cause streaking lines in the finish??
6. And lastly, when the aluminum is pitted, is it possible to buff the piece until there gone, or should I start with the wet sanding??

I probably have more questions, but I'll hold off for now ;D

I will post some pictures of my pieces to show you whats going on, but that will be later today.

Any help is appreciated

LL
My rides:
75' 76' Honda CB400F Super Sports
86' Honda XR600R for Street Madness
84' Honda Interceptor VF500

Past Rides:
80' Honda CX500C Fully Dressed
81' Honda CB650C very nice!
83' Kawasaki KZ550 A3
78' Hondamatic 400 Hawk
80' 81' 82' Honda GL500 Silverwing Insterstate

Offline Rhonda750F

• Hot Shot
  • In the Works!
    • Gallery:
Re: Machine Polishing for a Noob??
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2007, 08:56:48 am »
I've been putting in a lot of overtime polishing the hell out of all the aluminum bits I have on my bike since ripping it appart. and I might be able to help you out.