Author Topic: Rear tire for a cb750k8  (Read 2411 times)

Offline Quail "Owner of the comfortable k8"

• Expert
  • Now thats good eaten!!
Rear tire for a cb750k8
« on: April 07, 2005, 08:45:15 pm »
The  rear tire on this bike is a 160/70/17  and it clears the chain guard by 1/16 inch. Is there an advantage to this wide a tire.  The previous owner said it made a world of difference.  What size came on it.  Are tires that look like they have just grooves better than the original knobby type tread.  I read the post on crashes and started to second guess why I bought this fantastic machine.  Then I read the post on helmets and now I want the best tire to stick to the road.  And yes I am new to motorcycles and will ask a heap of dumb questions.
These wonderful little birds are great flyers, delicious eating, excellent for training your hunting dog, and just fun to shoot,or stuff and keep around the house.  Bobwhites can be put with other types of Quail and have very large penis's.  Quail are very popular with the babes.

Offline SteveD CB500F

• Global Moderator
  • Old Timer
  • Ride on the Steel Breeze...
    • TVAM
Re: Rear tire for a cb750k8
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2005, 04:11:53 am »
There must be a thousand posts on tyres on this (plus the old) site!

These bikes were designed in the days of skinny tyres so I can't really see the point in trying to fit super-wide modern stuff.

In the 70's we used 425/85 as the biggest we could fit.  My current 500 has 100/90 Avon Roadrunner on the rear (4.25 inches = 108mm) so this is slightly narrower - but it's fine!

160mm is 6.3 inches so not surprised that it's a tight fit!!
SOHC4 Member #2393
2015 Tiger 800 XRT
1971 CB500K0 (US Model)

El Taco

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2005, 11:37:27 am »
I like to stuff as much under the back as I can manage. My chopped CB500 has a 5.00-16 (prehistoric) on it, and my CB550 chop is going to have one a bit bigger.