Author Topic: bike running like a bag of bolts  (Read 2124 times)

Offline parm

bike running like a bag of bolts
« on: November 01, 2007, 11:53:51 am »
i just got my 75 cl360 going a couple of days ago, and it seems to be backfiring a bit, until it gets warm. then when i ride it sounds a loose bag of bolts being shook around and it feels gutless. do you think that could have something to do with me needing to sync the carbs? perhaps its runnign to rich. im not sure im new to motorcycles. any help would be great thanks!

fuzzybutt

Re: bike running like a bag of bolts
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2007, 01:46:03 pm »
try adjusting the camchain. synch carbs and check condition of plugs

Offline mattcb350f

• Hardly a
  • Master
  • 1974 CB350F
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2007, 01:50:41 pm »
+1, also adjust the valves while you're at it.

Backfiring out the carbs =    lean
Backfiring out the exhaust = rich
Backfiring out both       = Ignition

Sort of general there but that's typical causes.
 Matt.
1974 CB350F,  1980 CB125S,  1981 XL80S
Non Honda's: 86 & 87 Husqvarna 400wr's

My CB350F resto: http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=30467.0
Gallery at:
http://gallery.sohc4.net/main.php?g2_itemId=298318

Offline medic09

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2007, 01:36:42 pm »
The title of this thread made me think of one of our pilots, who says that a helicopter is nothing more than a mass of nuts and bolts moving in a more-or-less synchronized fashion in the same direction...
Mordechai

'78 CB750K
'76 Triumph T160 Trident (rebuilding)
'07 aprilia Caponord

Santa Fe, NM

Offline parm

« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2007, 01:48:56 pm »
to adjust the cam it says that i need to bring the motor to 90 degrees A.T.D.C. the problem is my kickstarter is broken. is it ok to turn the motor over by pressing the electric start gently, just to get it to turn over a bit at a time?

antiq

« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2007, 03:30:14 pm »