Author Topic: Help with front brakes  (Read 6039 times)

Offline Chicago550

• 75 CB550
  • Enthusiast
    • Gallery
Help with front brakes
« on: March 02, 2008, 05:34:15 pm »
I'm going to tackle my front brake once we get a "brake" from all this snow (no garage to work in) and was wondering if anyone would point me to where I can get all the parts (I'll need a bleeder too). It's for my 75 CB550K, and I figure while I've got the brake apart I might as well replace everything. The front brake kept dragging last year and I got by with spraying brake cleaner on the disk each morning (probably not the best thing to do) which seemed to help.

This is my first time tackling brakes on a bike. Will I need a jack to pull this off or can I get by resting the frame on blocks? I had one of those Craftsman bike jacks but decided to take it back since I would have had to remove my exhaust in order to use it (is there any way to avoid that or do all jacks require that)? Thanks in advance for any help.  ;)
75 CB550
70 CB350 gone to new home

Offline BobbyR

• Really Old Timer ...
  • Proud Owner of the Babe Thread & Dirty Old Man
Re: Help with front brakes
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 05:38:37 pm »
In answer to the second part of your question, this can probably be done using the center stand since you will probably not need to remove the wheel. Most of the parts you need can probably be gotten from Honda. I know the Master Cylinder parts are available since i bought them last year. 
Dedicated to Sgt. Howard Bruckner 1950 - 1969. KIA LONG KHANH.

But we were boys, and boys will be boys, and so they will. To us, everything was dangerous, but what of that? Had we not been made to live forever?

Offline Chicago550

• 75 CB550
  • Enthusiast
    • Gallery
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 06:00:08 pm »
Did you go through your local dealer for parts? Everytime that I've tried to get parts from Honda the dealers tell me they've been discontinued.
75 CB550

Offline BobbyR