Author Topic: Starting an 81 CB650 Custom after 1.5 years of sitting  (Read 3266 times)

rob

Starting an 81 CB650 Custom after 1.5 years of sitting
« on: April 17, 2005, 10:15:36 am »
Hi everyone,

I recently got an 81 CB650 Custom.  The previous owner has stored it in a shed for 1.5 years, and I am working on getting it started.

I have changd the spark plugs, oil, oil filter, battery, cleaned the gas tank, and added about 5 litres of new gas.  The engine turns over, the back wheel spins, but it doesn't catch.  The battery is freshly charged and it is turning over strongly, so I don't think it is an ignition problem.  I am relatively new to motorcycle repair and maintenance, and was wondering if anyone could give any ideas or advice on getting this going.  I was thinking of putting some chemicals through the carb to clean it out, is this a good idea?

Also, are there any other maintenance things that should be done on the bike after it has sat for a year and a half?  I was going to install a new chain as well, and the old cogs seem in pretty good shape.

Thanks,

Rob

El Taco

Re: Starting an 81 CB650 Custom after 1.5 years of sitting
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2005, 10:27:52 am »
You're on the right track. You've already done more than I normally do. Check the spark. That bike has electronic ignition, and if it won't spark, forget about getting it running right now. Unless power's not getting to the coils, you have something else wrong, and it'll cost you. I had one of those. The ignition modules were out, so I bypassed all of it and converted it to points.

Otherwise, spray some carb cleaner in all four carbs and give it a spin. If it fires, you're in luck. Take the carbs off and clean them like you've never cleaned before, then do it again.

Jeremy

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2005, 11:53:43 am »
Back wheel spins? Is it in neutral? Bike won't start in  gear

rob

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2005, 01:49:40 pm »
Hi Thanks for the Feedback,