Author Topic: Alternator/Stator  (Read 4835 times)

Offline danielcgordon

• Loving to Learn
Alternator/Stator
« on: September 24, 2009, 01:58:11 pm »
I was wondering if the alternator/stator is the same thing?
I have an 83 Suzuki GR 650 Tempter...I was told I need an alternator but cant seem to find it on any schematics.

Just as a quick background:
I am left charging the battery on a regular basis, last week I tried to get up to speed on the eway and it died. Now the battery won't hold a charge and there is a clicking when I try to start it.

Thanks in advance to everyone

Dan
Dan

Offline 750goes

• Master
  • it will live
Re: Alternator/Stator
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 02:15:44 pm »
You need another battery...

you need to get some electrical work sorted out - it could be your alternator or regulator/rectifier....or bad earths...

search a suzuki forum or post some more information here, someone may help..

I have limited electrical knowledge...but will assist where I can

You need a multimeter...

Offline kirkn

• Expert
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 02:43:05 pm »
Well, as far as the terminology:  the alternator is the entire collection of parts, windings, coils, cores, interconnections, etc. that collectively generate alternating current (AC) which gets rectified into direct current (DC) and regulated to charge the battery and run the bike's electrical loads.

The stator, specifically, is the set of stationary windings in which the alternating current is generated by either a permanent magnet (rotating either within or around the outside of those windings) or by an electromagnet, which is a variable magnet created by varying an electric current in yet another set of windings called the field winding or just field.

As for why the system won't charge your battery, well, any of those components can be bad, including the stator, the field (if so-equipped), the interconnections, the rectifier, the regulator or the battery itself.