Author Topic: 1977 CB850 Cafe, Complete, Updated pics!  (Read 28065 times)

Offline Anti-Johnny

• 75 cb750k
  • Hot Shot
  • Poser
Re: 1977 CB750K Cafe project, first motorcycle build.
« Reply #50 on: November 15, 2010, 06:37:17 pm »
Thats a really sharp looking oil tank, almost a shame to cover it up!
www.southaustinmotorcycles.com
 Come by and wrench and have a cold one while enjoying the wide array of rides and riders in Austin!

music

Offline BrianAdair

• Hot Shot
  • Oh, so this is where you type the text...
Re: 1977 CB750K Cafe project, first motorcycle build.
« Reply #51 on: January 02, 2011, 08:11:17 pm »
It's been forever since I updated this, been busy, and as I've  said before I'm not good at using the camera when I'm busy working ;D I don't like to stop what I'm working on to take pictures, or I forget my camera and my phone takes crapy pictures.

Anyway, this is what I have so far.

Putting the engine back together, Bored over to 64mm pistons making it 811cc, new cam chain tensioner, new HD valve springs, hot cam (not sure of what brand or specs, but is comparable to a RC 315 cam), adjustable cam sprocket, new gaskets and seals, Ported & polished head, lapped valves, re-surfaced head deck.

Stock cam on left side, the one I used on the right side.

I took a short cut I may regret, ??? I rattle can painted my frame, wanted to powder coat it but funds and work aren't great right now, and since the engine was ready to go back in I am anxious to get it up and going, if it chips, I can touch it up ;) and can always powder coat it later on.
New fork seals installed, new All balls taper neck bearings, a ton of cleaning and polishing, I'll try and get more, and better pics.
I don't have enough room in the shed to get far enough away from the frame to get a better picture ::)

Offline Jerry Rxman Griffin aka MuthaF'er

• This MuthaF'er is getting to be a
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Bought her new 4/75
Re: 1977 CB750K Cafe project, engine in frame....