Author Topic: Shock Absorbers  (Read 21157 times)

Offline Phil

Re: Shock Absorbers
« Reply #25 on: October 06, 2010, 10:02:33 am »
Assen was great - yes, long chat with Croz who remembered I changed the oil in his forks at Oliver's Mount- said the old Moriwaki handled worse than it did before - hope he was kidding!! His bike is for sale £50k - any takers?

Offline IRISHCBRACER

• Enthusiast
    • My first build - 1976 CB550
« Reply #26 on: November 23, 2010, 09:38:17 pm »
Looking into a good Ohlins dealer in CA who is going to contact Ohlins for a built to length shock (HO140)for the CB550. I believe the stock extended length eye to eye is 320mm/12.6".

Anyone interested in a group buy for hopefully a better discount? I am getting quoted $650 + tax for the HO140's unmodified.

Offline somesuch

• Hot Shot
« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2010, 12:06:18 am »
I've been running Koni's for most of my CB750 years. There's gotta be a better shock after all these years - or has the clevis screwed us out of any further development? No chance of Ohlins, darn it...or is there?
Hyperpro or Works Performance.....you have 1000.00 for those babies. ;)

I would not give two cents to Hyperpro after the way they handled all the problems with their steering dampers....search on leaking steering damper hyperpro.... Works has always been a great company

--Nick

Offline Phil

« Reply #28 on: February 20, 2011, 03:17:35 am »
I now have 2 pairs of knackered Konis - good old ebay! I have now decided to buy a new pair from Maxtons who will custom-make them for me. They will calculate spring-rate etc. but my question is - what length should they be? What is the optimum length for racing? The mounting position top and bottom is as per standard K6. Should I go for the standard length 0f 13" (330mm) or try and get a bit more weight on the front by going longer? Your experience/ views would be most welcome.

Offline bear

• Vale Bill McIntosh ......"illegitimi non carborundum"
  • Old Timer