Author Topic: New member, new project.  (Read 6230 times)

Offline englishwheeler

New member, new project.
« on: December 06, 2010, 01:19:07 pm »
Hello,
  Just joined the site after picking up a 1976 CB550. I've heard a lot about this place from my friend who is on here, but didn't have a bike of this nature. Now I do, so here I am!
Anyway...I'm gonna get some pics up soon, but thought I'd get a post going. I plan on cafe-ing this bike out and turning it into a nice corner carver.

I will be making a new gas tank out of aluminum and a tail section with aluminum also. I have plans for a monoshock rear, but also dig the looks of the twin shocks...so I'm on the fence. BTW, does anyone recommend a certain set of rear performance type shocks for the 550? I'm still learning where to look for parts.

I've seen the modern front end conversions, but think I will stay with the original for now.

Exhaust will be a two into two for that balanced look.
Hopefully I'll be able to contribute here and learn just the same.

Englishwheeler

http://meyerbuiltmetalworks.blogspot.com
« Last Edit: December 06, 2010, 01:29:18 pm by englishwheeler »

Offline Goofaroo

• general nuisance
  • Hot Shot
Re: New member, new project.
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 04:14:38 pm »
It sounds like you have vision of what you want a good bike to start with.  That's one helluva seat that came with it. I bet the guy that put that on there was wearing platform shoes when he bought it.   

Offline joeyputt

• Hot Shot
  • The green flag sets me free
    • www.dwmsracing.com
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2010, 05:01:00 pm »
That is a great bike you have there, I love all Honda's but the 550 is my favorite! I can not wait to see what you build for the tank and seat! Good to have you here!
Joe - Owner/Operator of DWMS Racing World Class Engine & Motorcycle Building www.dwmsracing.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/joe.dwmsracing

Offline Retro Rocket

• Eggs are hard due too a
  • Really Old Timer ...