Author Topic: Any help for a NEWBIE???  (Read 956 times)

Offline UYD4L

Any help for a NEWBIE???
« on: April 26, 2011, 11:04:27 am »
Hi all,

First & foremost, let me say thanks to all of you out there who are active in this community and so willing to share your secrets & tips. Without this forum, where would we be?

I'll get to the point.

I've owned a 1977 CB750K4 for a few years and decided to go the cafe racer route with it. Now that I've been giving it more consideration, I've decided I want to go full race replica and am looking for advice on everything from frame mods to suspension and engine mods as well as all of those kinky dry clutch and electronic black arts as well. I am a novice mechanic but capable and willing to have anything I'm unable to do done by a professional. These bikes deserve more attention and I hope to accomplish this with this build. I'm looking to build a machine that has strength (engine) and everything else that can be improved upon within reason.

I'm starting from scratch here and hope the members of this forum can take me under their wing (pun intended) and show me there is light at the end of the tunnel. I'm currently in South Korea as this is where I work and live, but hope to work on the project over the coming summer with my dad & brother as a bonding experience.

I'm sure you all have your thoughts and opinions about something like this. I started reading many of the forums but found some broken links and thought I'd start this thread in an effort to consolidate any information for future newbs. One thing I'd like to say is that although I don't currently plan to race this bike when I'm finished, that could change in the future so I'm aiming for performance mods. I look forward to hearing from all of you who are willing to lend me any advice and encouragement on my build. Where do I start???

Sincerely, Rodney

(PS...be gentle~)

Offline evan77

Re: Any help for a NEWBIE???
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 12:19:07 pm »