Author Topic: 1974 CB550k Primary Chain Noise at Idle ... with pics of my build  (Read 1577 times)

Offline WarwickE36

• Expert
Hello all, this is my first post on this forum, however I have used previous posts to solve MANY problems.  For that I thank you all very much.  I bought a 74 550 back in May 2011. This is my first bike, I figured since I am a mechanic by trade I would like to buy a cheap decent looking CB to turn into a cafe racer.  The bike was a no run when I bought it but looked to be in typical farm fresh condition.

I started by removing and cleaning the carbs completely.  I replaced the air filter, throttle cables, clutch cable and gave it an oil and filter change.  I put in a new battery and fired it up.  After a little tweaking I got it running pretty well.

Since then I have done lots of mods, Clubman bars, stainless steel brake lines, new coils, new wires and plugs, re-timed ignition, new petcock...I dunno probably way more.  Oh yeah painted the tank and side covers. bobbed the fenders and replaced all lights...I will post pictures after I get my question typed out.

I now have 600 miles on the bike since I bought it.  33,000 total.  It will idle at 1,000 pretty smoothly, but has the "common" rattle with the clutch out in neutral.  It is dramatically better in 1st with the clutch in, and non existent in gear going down the road.  I have yet to pull the pan and check the slop, but my question is how much damage can I do running it like this for 1 season.  The plan is to pull the motor and do a gasket and ring job next fall, at that time I will do cam chain and primary chain and anything else i notice being worn.

I will realistically ride about 5-6 thousand miles this summer, will I do a ton of damage riding in the current condition.