Author Topic: Solved: Vapor Lock or Seafoam After-effect? (Nope)  (Read 634 times)

Offline Kaze

• Hot Shot
Solved: Vapor Lock or Seafoam After-effect? (Nope)
« on: September 23, 2023, 11:18:59 am »
EDITED: In short, I caused the problem by routing my fuel line under the carbs... don't do that...

At the start of the week I warmed up the bike a few minutes, then added Seafoam High Mileage Engine Treatment to my tank, in the prescribed amount. Idle immediately dropped and the bike acted like it was about to die, so I had to hold the throttle open a bit for about a minute or 2. (It never does that otherwise)

This is my first time adding any sort of fuel additive to any motorcycle, but it came recommended.

Friday I went out for a ride. I was on the freeway going 60mph or so, and 20 miles into my trip, the bike started sounding and acting like it was out of gas. The trip meter read that I'd only traveled 75miles since last fill up, but I switched to reserve anyway. For a moment it was better, but then a minute or so later, it was sputtering and choking like a fish out of water. I was only 1/4 mile from the exit, so I limped it off the highway, holding that throttle open but barely able to go 50. Got to gas station...bike died at the pump.

It took just 2.2 gallons in to fill the tank, so the odometer hadn't lied. Checked my float bowls, plenty of gas. Bike ran awesome after the fill up, so I rode another 30miles and then came home.