Author Topic: A TON of 750 questions from a noob  (Read 8241 times)

Offline kev.rohr

A TON of 750 questions from a noob
« on: July 03, 2011, 10:51:43 pm »
Hi All, been lurking awhile, first post here.

Some background on me so you know who I am - I was an ASE certified auto technician for 10+ years. so I'm no stranger to a shop. I'm not at all afraid to rebuild a motor (done plenty of them, so yes, I can read a mic and I know what plastiguage is). I understand motorcycle suspension and can rebuild carbs, set points and redesign an EFI system. I've been riding forever, and I've taken apart every bike I've owned.

Anyway,
I just picked up a 1976 CB750 for $375 (not a bad price at all!)

So I'm considering what all I'm going to do to it, or actually, what all I can or should do to it. Definitely gonna be a top-notch cafe racer, showroom top to bottom, but meant to be ridden! I'm thinking I want to keep it old-skool looking, so no USD forks unless it's low-key (no gold anodizing!), but I want to modernize how it runs and handles.

I'll be building a 550 for a friend before I get to my 750, so any input on either model would be much appreciated, all the following questions apply to either bike. These will be my first true cafe racer builds, I want to do them up right.

The more I read, the more I'm learning, and I've been all over this forum - there's so much information, it's almsot overwhelming! I would be forever grateful if some of you guys could give me an overview or a primer maybe on things that are commonly done to these 550's and 750's. Chime in on any or all of the ideas below to add, clarify, correct, inform...

Engine (750):
12,000 miles on the clock, but I don't know yet if the speedo or odo work, so I can't say for sure.