Author Topic: 76 cb750F  (Read 1336 times)

Offline beks82

• Enthusiast
76 cb750F
« on: July 26, 2011, 07:33:10 am »
Well it took me a while to finally put up a post regarding the build I've been working on for the last two years.  I originally started with a basketcase 76 F1 that was missing the exhaust and someone along the way had sprayed bombed matte black. 
The original fuel tank had pin hole leaks and was rusted inside so that was cleaned and sealed.  The hardest part was polishing the aluminum that had surface marks and rust.  Once the forks were cleaned up the frame was painted black for the time being. 
The engine turned over when I had bought it and compression came out good, so instead of spending too much money on the internals yet, I replaced the cam chain and adjusted my valves after timing and carbs had been cleaned.

Offline beks82

• Enthusiast
Re: 76 cb750F
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2011, 07:41:47 am »
The engine was then degreased and cleaned with a wire brush for the time being and everything was buttoned back up to test if the bike would run.  Took about 4 kicks and it started right up.  At this point wasn't very sure about where I wanted to go with this bike as far as a build, but one thing I did not want to do was cut into the frame or ruin any of the stock parts that were usable. 
The seat was in surprising good shape, as was the luggage rack, the frame hadn't been cut yet.  After looking at many other posts I wanted to go ahead and make a cafe out of it. 
I had never worked extensively with fiberglass, except to repair fairings, so the idea of making my own sounded like a fun project...which I would come to regret many many many times.