Author Topic: Problem With Speedo Drive  (Read 1663 times)

Offline ppetersan

Problem With Speedo Drive
« on: November 27, 2011, 09:29:02 am »
I have been on this forum for a while, but this is my first time posting as this is the first problem I have had that I hasn't already been addressed in a thread.

I have a 76 CB750F that i am making some modifications to. A while ago I bought an aftermarket headlight bucket that fits my headlight and stock speedometer.  When I first installed it, the speedo did not work so I ordered a new cable.  When I installed the new cable the speedometer still didn't work, so i figured it was the speedo drive, or gear box, as it is called in the manual.  I bought a used, but working, speedo drive on ebay and installed it last night - but the speedo still didn't work. 

There appears to be no problem with the mechanism.  And, when i align the tabs in the gearbox with the notches in gear box retainer, the mechanism spins.  However, when I attach the cable the speedo drive it  doesn't work and when I take the cable off the mechanism doesn't spin with the wheel anymore.  Im guessing the tabs in the drive are somehow slipping out of out of the notches in the retainer, but can't figure out how that's happening or how to fix.

There are so few moving parts it seems like this should be an easy fix, but I can't figure out why it isn't working.

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

Offline Rigid

• She likes a
  • Expert
  • Speak from personal experience, or don't
    • KingCustomCycles
Re: Problem With Speedo Drive
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 09:59:36 am »
Pics?  you lost me on the tabs slipping part......
36 years of this stuff, here to help.

Offline ppetersan

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 01:34:37 pm »