Author Topic: Rotten rusted CB750 aka The Red Rider OUT OF HIBERNATION  (Read 61688 times)

Offline MoMo

• Really Old Timer ...
  • Ride like you're invisible
Rotten rusted CB750 aka The Red Rider OUT OF HIBERNATION
« on: December 30, 2011, 07:34:19 pm »
[/i]Figured I'd finally get around to starting a build thread. I found the site a bit over a year ago.  At that time I was redoing 2 or 3 bikes, working full time and doing bike work for several customers.  A couple weeks ago I bought this 750 from forum member mrjack55.  Here is a link for the original post http://forums.sohc4.net/index.php?topic=98780.0  Here are two photos taken by Jack, I neglected to take any photos before the tear down.

As you can see the bike is cosmetically excellent (considering it has 75000 miles ;)) but suffers from severe frame rot.  My theory is the bike was ridden year round, pressure washed, parked on the side stand so the water wouldn't drain out the drain hole.  I was a mechanic for 14 years back in the heyday of the sohc, probably worked on 1000's of bikes but never saw anything like this.

[img][http://i705.photobucket.com/albums/ww51/photolar/red%20black%20750/swingarmouter-1.jpg/img]

My plan is to leave the bike the same color, swap the frame and install a low mileage 1975 Cb750F motor that I recently acquired.  Motor only has 6000 miles.  The cost to restore to stock would outweigh the future sale price.  Figure at least 500 for paint and new side covers, at least a 100  for new foam and seat cover, 50 to 100 for good chrome fork ears.  What with the 1000 I paid for the bike plus another 1000 or so, I'd have 2000 into a high mileage 1975 Cb750.  Now if it were a 71 or earlier I'd do it.  Bike will not be a cafe racer, it will look very similar to above photos but the red and black theme will be continued-the frame will be red, and the seat may have red piping.  all for now...Larry
« Last Edit: July 02, 2015, 02:53:46 pm by MoMo »

Offline brandEn

• Old Timer