Author Topic: MY VERY FIRST PROJECT | 1978 Honda CB750 into a Cafer Racer!  (Read 7888 times)

Offline Phillybaw

• Hood Beats
MY VERY FIRST PROJECT | 1978 Honda CB750 into a Cafer Racer!
« on: January 02, 2012, 09:48:14 pm »
What up everyone? I just started a new project last week on a bike that I have had for a long time. I bought the bike about 6 years ago and only rode it once SMH...I bought it as a practice/learner bike and I only rode it once to test it out. I never got it registered or fully up and running. The carbs needed cleaning back then and it was having trouble starting so I just left it to sit. The bike has been sitting outside my house for 6 years now and I'm finally ready to get it going! Lemme mention that I am not a mechanic in any type of way! Also I'm not a handy man in any way, shape or form lol...My brother and my uncle are mechanics and I'm hoping that with their guidance and assistance, I can completely restore this bike. I am going to turn it into an Cafe Racer. So far I have removed the engine and stripped the bike down to the frame. My uncle owned a bodyshop for years so with his help I sanded down the frame and painted it today. I also painted the tank and sanded the wheels and prepared them for paint. I will paint the wheels sometime this week. I am going to have A LOT of questions when it is time to put the bike back together so I NEED EVERYONE'S HELP! I will keep everyone posted on my progress!  :)

The Frame after a little sanding:

The Painted Frame! :)

Close-up of the paint:

The Painted Tank:
I just decided that I am going to re-paint the tank red.

The top cover to my tank cannot lock because the lock is gone. Does anyone know where or how I can get this fixed?

Offline MoMo

• Really Old Timer ...
  • Ride like you're invisible
Re: MY VERY FIRST PROJECT | 1978 Honda CB750 into a Cafer Racer!
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 10:16:12 pm »