Author Topic: 1974 CB550 No Spark  (Read 13239 times)

Offline shade

1974 CB550 No Spark
« on: May 26, 2012, 01:06:53 pm »
1974 CB550 with about 20,000 miles

In my last posts I detailed what I've done with this bike so far but here is a quick summary:

The bike was left behind my building in NYC about 8 years ago.  It hasn't been started since then.  I have no mechanical experience and have been relying heavily on the suggestions from the members of this forum.

I have:
Changed the Oil
Replaced the Spark Plugs
Replaced the Battery.
Bought a new key
Replaced the fuses and cleaned the fuse box.
Cleaned the Points.
De-rusted the Gas Tank through electrolysis, and cleaned the fuel filter in the tank.
Removed the Carburetors and soaked them in Pine Sol.
Adjusted the Floats
Replaced the carb jets.
Also added a little oil to the Cylinders.

I did a spark test in the beginning and it was getting spark, I did a spark test today and it IS NOT. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline LesterPiglet

• Old Timer
  • 1977 CB550F2
Re: 1974 CB550 No Spark
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2012, 01:13:05 pm »
What spark test did you perform? Is there power to the points? Is there still power in the battery? You will need to start with eliminating the obvious.
'Then' and 'than' are completely different words and have completely different meanings. Same with 'of' and 'have'. Set and sit. There, their and they're. Draw and drawer. Could care less/couldn't care less. Bought/brought FFS.

Les Ross.            Certified by a Professional

Offline shade

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2012, 01:19:03 pm »
I took the spark plugs out one at a time, placed them back into their connectors and placed the bottom against a metal part on the engine, and pressed the ignition.  No spark after a few seconds of turning it over.  The first time I did this test about a month and a half ago I could see a spark, and on one I held it wrong and actually got a shock.