Author Topic: Another Headlight issue  (Read 2064 times)

Offline Ashleyd205

Another Headlight issue
« on: July 21, 2014, 06:38:26 pm »
Hey guys.  I'm still fairly new to all this stuff so sorry if I'm slow or stupid.

So, I've been racking my brain over this for a few weeks now trying to figure out my issue.  I have a 75 CB550. About two months ago I was riding to work and noticed my headlight was on, as I was parking I noticed it had turned off and would not turn back on. I thought the bulb had blown so I replaced it, which did not fix the problem. 

I have taken the bulb out and used a mutli-meter and it get between 11-11.8v at idle and of course goes up with the rpms. Replaced the voltage reg, fuse block(which had melted), and rectifier. I recheck all the wires in the headlight bucket earlier today and I'm just stuck.  Hope someone can help guide a lost sole!

Offline MoMo

• Really Old Timer ...
  • Ride like you're invisible
Re: Another Headlight issue
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 07:07:52 pm »
do you have 12v at the headlight socket on the white wire with the switch on low beam and 12v at the blue when high beam is activated?...Larry

Offline GEARBOX

• THE LOLA REGISTRY
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 07:09:56 pm »
I believe you should have three wires to the head light like on the 750's.  Blue is high beam, white is low beam and green is ground.  Are you taking the reading using the green as the ground?  Or using another common ground (i.e. frame)?  If you are getting power using a frame ground, test the green headlamp wire ground.  Sounds like the green wire may have pulled out of it's connector or something else is affecting the grounding of the green wire.  Good luck, Allan

Offline calj737

• Really Old Timer ...
  • I refuse...
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2014, 07:15:40 pm »
Replaced the... fuse block(which had melted)...