Author Topic: Basic electrical and rewiring of ignition / controls - Honda CB400F 1976  (Read 4041 times)

Offline JonasP

Hi guys. I'm not really new to this forum, but all new to posting questions, hope you guys can help me out with some basics on the electrical and some rewiring.

I'm doing a complete rebuild of a Honda CB400F from '76, but learning it all as I go from manuals and forums. I'm finally at the electrical and I've been searching the web for ages and been looking at similar topics, but I can't seem to find the answers I'm looking for - something precise. It looks like everybody got different ways of doing their wiring, so every topic and set of answers goes in every direction. But anyways, to the questions :)

First of all I've been reading about wiring and electrics for a while, so I got a basic knowledge of how it all works and how to read my wiring diagram, but as I mentioned; this is my first time doing this, so bear with me.

Wiring diagram: http://www.cmsnl.com/classic-honda-fansite/honda_wiring_diagrams/CB400F.jpg

1) Grounds: Just painted the bike, so I reckon I need to scrape some of the paint off to get good grounds? How do I make sure the grounds are good? Bare metal, a washer and a bolt? How many grounds do I "need" on a CB400F? Is the Negative from the battery going down to the engine mount on the right side of the bike and then the green ground wire to the battery box mount? That should make the frame to ground and the green should mount the overall ground to the frame, right? So with the green wire grounded, would it be ideal to ground indicators and controls to that, instead of grounding it to frame? I got new indicators, taillight and headlight.