Author Topic: Terrible mileage  (Read 1823 times)

Offline christianr

• Green Machine
Terrible mileage
« on: May 17, 2007, 12:37:22 pm »
Hi All,

I am a newbie here...I have a Honda 76 550k four and I am getting terrible gas mileage. Something like 20mpg...It seems like this bike should be getting at least 40 or so.

Overall, my bike runs ok, but I suspect that this is a carb problem. A previous owner converted this into a 4 into 1 exhaust and I am wondering if this sounds like they may have rejetted the carbs to something not very efficient.

I have never taken apart the carbs for a thorough cleaning though. Do you think that cleaning everything up may solve this problem? Could this be caused by the carbs being out of sync? Timing? All of the above? Do I need to get some rebuild kits?

Would cleaning the carbs be a good place to start? Is there a way to tell what size jets are in there once I get it apart?

Thanks for the help

-Christian

1976 CB 550 K
Someday it will be done...

Offline Short Round

• Hot Shot
Re: Terrible mileage
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2007, 12:44:18 pm »
I would go ahead and get some carb kits, do a proper cleaning of all of them, put them back together.  Have them synched and take it for a ride to see what the results are.  They might be running really rich, not getting a good spark, inproper plug gap.  Go ahead and get new stuff that way you  know what is in there for the future.  Trust me its worth the $.......................Chris
1974 CB550

Offline Bob Wessner

• "Carbs Suck!"
  • Really Old Timer ...
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2007, 12:57:23 pm »
Christian, while you are in the carbs anyway for the suggested cleaning, might be worth checking what jet sizes are in there. If the PO altered the exhaust, as you mentioned, he may well have changed the jetting and may not have needed to, or went overboard.
We'll all be someone else's PO some day.

Offline 333

• Time for change
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • Mail List Member #162 - Call me Stan