Author Topic: 1977 CB750k Rebuild or Cafe Racer.... (Lots of Pics)  (Read 22516 times)

ethos42

1977 CB750k Rebuild or Cafe Racer.... (Lots of Pics)
« on: October 31, 2007, 03:59:48 pm »
I just picked up a CB750 and stumbled across this site.

So far it looks like a pretty good resource for everything about these bikes and I really can't wait to get into it.

This is my second bike, I just finished rebuilding a 1986 Honda Rebel 450 (CMX450c) which was in pretty bad shape. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, but I am very persistent and resourceful.

I'm planning on using this to document the reconstruction of this bike. So to start with, here's some pic's of the bike in it's current condition:

It needs quite a bit of work as it sat outside for the past several years up in Payson, AZ. Not much rust, but lots and lots of grime/oxidation.

I hooked her up to the truck battery just to see what lights would come on, what would happen when I pushed the start button, etc.

Headlight works
Blinkers don't
Tail-light is broke, so didn't try that
Pushed the start button and the starter just spun.

I just helped a buddy with his 1983 Shadow 750 where the spring on his starter clutch broke, so I had become fairly familiar with the electric start on a bike. My first guess was that the starter clutch was shot... Boy was I right!

Starter Clutch on the flywheel

Flywheel with starter clutch removed

Bolts that had been sheared off

So I've got a new-to-me (read used) flywheel coming from E-bay. It looks to be in pretty decent condition, but we'll see when it gets here.

I noticed another guy on this site had a similar problem with his. Is this a common failure point? Should I upgrade the bolts on the new flywheel with better material?

While waiting for the flywheel there's not a whole lot I can do to try to start it up again (no money in the budget yet) So I'm working on some general shiny stuff :)