Author Topic: 1978 suzuki gs 1000  (Read 20802 times)

Offline 750K2

• new rider with an old bike
  • Enthusiast
1978 suzuki gs 1000
« on: April 04, 2008, 03:41:38 pm »
hi all - a buddy of mine has a 78 suzuki gs1000 and it just sits there collecting dust.  i've tried finding an example of this bike on ebay to get some idea of the value but there's absolutely none to be had.  rather than asking ya'll for the value, i'm asking if anyone knows the rep of these bikes.  were they any good, or were they just too little, too late in a changing and competitive marketplace?  i'm new to motorcycling and while i do love my 750k, i've have learned that the kawasaki 1000 replaced it in terms of bad-ass street value.  how did the suzuki stand up?  i did locate a website for owners but really...it's nowhere near as good as this one!  and no, i won't be buying the bike..this is more of an exercise in rampant curiosity.   thanks!
frank

Offline Gordon

• Global Moderator
  • Really Old Timer ...
  • 750K1, 550K2
Re: 1978 suzuki gs 1000
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 03:54:44 pm »
cycletrader.com is also a good place to check for similar bike asking prices.   

Offline Terry in Australia

• Really Old Timer ...
  • So, what do ya wanna talk about today?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2008, 05:33:05 pm »
The GS1000 was arguably the best mass-produced bike ever built in the 1970's mate, according to my "Great Bikes of The 70's" book.

You're right that the Kawasaki Z1 kicked the CB750 off the Superbike podium, and so rather than try to better it, Suzuki instead refined it, first with the GS750, then the amazing GS1000.

Suzuki unashamedly stole a lot of styling cues from Kawasaki, but they built the frame that Kawasaki couldn't, and so ended up with a bike that was as fast as the Z1000 in a straight line, but 10 times better in the twisties.