Author Topic: 74' cb750 - my rat bike  (Read 65848 times)

Offline dp2275

• Enthusiast
74' cb750 - my rat bike
« on: October 06, 2008, 05:04:13 pm »
hey everyone..first ill start off with a little bit about myself..

My name is Dustin and im from Glenville, PA which is situated near the Maryland line in central PA.  Im currently a radiography student at Penn. school of technology (the x-ray program).  My story goes like this..i started building a turbocharged vw golf at age 15.  I sold that and bought a honda hurricane @ 18.  After modding hurricane significantly, i sold it to fund my turbocharged bmw project.  Being a college student, i couldnt afford to continue modding the bmw (already 15k into it), so i parked it. 
     I really missed having the hurricane so i got back into the market for something cheap, reliable, and easy to mod...aka, a honda!  Ive got a pretty extensive background in building engines, tuning, wiring, welding, and anything else mechanical so i was searching for a 'fixer upper'...and it just so happens that my friend's older brother had a 74' cb750 he wanted to sell for $500.  Let the fun begin!

after removing the king/queen seat, lugguage rack, back rest, engine gaurd, ape hangers, and lights...i was left with this!

i lowered the front and mocked up drag bars along with removing some unneccessary crap...which got me here:

Then, i soldered new plug wires on the old crusty coils and proceded to rewire the entire bike.  all of the handlebar controls were removed and switches were mounted in the center 'dash' to control hi/low beams, blinkers, and horn.  I also mounted an LED for the nuetral light.